First Winners

4th AACTA Awards Luncheon presented by Deluxe

The 4th AACTA Awards Luncheon presented by Deluxe was today held at The Star Event Centre Sydney, celebrating screen craft excellence, and marking the first winners for the 4th AACTA Awards season.

Twenty two awards were presented, recognising the talent and innovation of practitioners working across television, documentary, short fiction film, short animation and feature film. The remainder of 4th AACTA Awards will be presented at the 4th AACTA Awards Ceremony in Sydney on Thursday.

Today’s event was hosted by writer/actor/producer/director Adam Zwar, whose AACTA and AFI awarded productions include Agony Aunts, Lowdown and Wilfred. Zwar, whose humour was in full force, was joined by outstanding presenters including AACTA President Geoffrey Rush, David Stratton, Damian Walshe-Howling, Alexandra Schepisi, Charlotte Best and Diana Glenn, to name a few.

The talent pool was fierce this year with a number of productions bagging multiple nominations Including THE BROKEN SHORE, TENDER, UKRAINE IS NOT A BROTHEL and PREDESTINATION, all with five nominations.


On the small screen the AACTA Award for Best Children’s Television Series went to Colin South and Keith Saggers for their show set in a tiny town called Whale Bay, home to a giant thong, ABC3’s THE FLAMIN’ THONGS.

The AACTA Award for Best Direction in a Television Light Entertainment or Reality Series went to Beck Cole and Craig Anderson for Episode 3 of the ABC’s BLACK COMEDY, a ground breaking show, featuring an ensemble cast of Indigenous writers and performers.

When it came to what took our breath away on the small screen, the AACTA Award for Best Cinematography in Television went to Martin McGrath ACS for the ABC’s evocative crime thriller, THE BROKEN SHORE.

The AACTA Award for Best Editing in Television was awarded to Deborah Peart ASE for Episode 1 of ABC’s captivating drama, THE CODE. THE CODE Episode 1 also picked up the AACTA Award for Best Original Music Score in Television Presented by APRA AMCOS, going to Roger Mason.

The AACTA Award for Best Sound in Television went to Tom Heuzenroeder, Des Kenneally, Belinda Trimboli and Pete Best for Episode 6: Courage, of ABC’s ANZAC GIRLS.

ABC’s CARLOTTA picked up both the ACCTA Award for Best Production Design in Television (Murray Picknett) and the AACTA Award for Best Costume Design in Television (Jenny Miles).


Last year was far from falling short on talent when it came to great Aussie Short Films.

The AACTA Award for Best Short Animation went to Anthony Lawrence for GRACE UNDER WATER, which tells the story of Lou losing the cold war with her stubborn and enigmatic stepdaughter Grace when an unexpected challenge arises from the depths of a warm, dreamy afternoon at the local pool.

The AACTA Award for Best Short Fiction Film went to Mirrah Foulkes and Alex White for FLORENCE HAS LEFT THE BUILDING, staring the Oscar nominated and AACTA Award winning actress Jacki Weaver.


Australians have so many incredible stories to tell, and this was strongly reflected in the incredible range and depth of this year’s nominees.

The AACTA Award for Best Documentary Television Program Presented by Foxtel Movies went to Kath Shelper for the ABC’s five-time nominated TENDER – a moving documentary about a feisty and resilient community centre in an industrial seaside town that is in the process of setting up a community-based funeral service when they are suddenly faced with the challenge of caring for one of their own.

Eddie Martin was awarded the AACTA Award for Best Direction in a Documentary for ALL THIS MAYHEM. Capturing the story of Tas and Ben Pappas, two Melbourne brothers who took the skateboarding world by storm, ALL THIS MAYHEM also received the AACTA Award for Best Editing in a Documentary (Chris King), and the AACTA Award for Best Original Music Score in a Documentary Presented by APRA AMCOS (Jed Kurzel).

Aaron Gully and Maxx Corkindale won the AACTA Award for Best Cinematography in a Documentary for SONS & MOTHERS, a moving and intimate portrait of a group of men who meet once a week as part of the Men’s Ensemble theatre troupe. They embark on a year-long process to create a theatrical love letter to their mothers and, as they reveal themselves, things get complicated and not everyone makes it to opening night.

The AACTA Award for Best Sound in a Documentary went to Des Kenneally, Will Sheridan, Pete Best and Scott Illingworth, making it two wins out of four nominations for SONS & MOTHERS.


The last year saw incredible diversity when it came to Australian film. Our storytelling addressed a myriad of themes, from post-apocalyptic life, time travel and horror, through to epic tales of love, family and history.

The AACTA Award for Best Cinematography went to Ben Nott ACS for PREDESTINATION. The success of this time travel thriller continued as it saw Matt Villa ASE honoured with the AACTA Award for Best Editing, and Matthew Putland receive the AACTA Award for Best Production Design.

THE ROVER saw Sam Petty, Des Kenneally, Justine Angus, Brooke Trezise, Francis Ward Lindsay and Robert Mackenzie awarded the AACTA Award for Best Sound.

The AACTA Award for Best Original Music Score Presented by APRA AMCOS gave David Hirschfelder the nod and the first win for THE RAILWAY MAN, which had four nominations.

And finally the AACTA Award for Best Costume Design went to Tess Schofield for the film that has enjoyed huge box office success and marked the directorial debut of Russell Crowe, THE WATER DIVINER.

The AACTA Awards are proudly supported by the New South Wales Government, through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.