Feature Film Nominees

Feature Film Nominees

A total of 14 feature film Awards will be presented at the 4th AACTA Awards.

Competition is fierce. Sci-Fi thriller PREDESTINATION by the Spierig brothers and Russell Crowe’s World War I epic THE WATER DIVINER lead with nine nominations each, followed by David Michôd’s dystopian thriller THE ROVER with seven nominations.

A total of 15 feature films received nominations. The six feature films nominated for the AACTA Award for Best Film are: THE BABADOOK; CHARLIE’S COUNTRY; PREDESTINATION; THE RAILWAY MAN; THE WATER DIVINER; and TRACKS.

Competition within the category of Best Lead Actor is strong. Past AFI Award winners Russell Crowe (THE WATER DIVINER) and David Gulpilil (CHARLIE’S COUNTRY) compete with Guy Pearce (THE ROVER), marking his sixth nomination from the AFI and AACTA since 2005, and Damon Herriman (THE LITTLE DEATH), who received an nomination at the 2nd AACTA Awards for his performance in LAID SERIES 2.

Three of the four Best Lead Actress nominees are also past AFI or AACTA Award winners - Mia Wasikowska (TRACKS), Essie Davis (THE BABADOOK) and Sarah Snook (PREDESTINATION) - whilst the 4th AACTA Awards mark a nomination debut for Kate Box (THE LITTLE DEATH).

THE BABADOOK received six nominations (including a Best Direction presented by Hyundai Genesis nomination for debut Director Jennifer Kent, who was also nominated for Best Original Screenplay), as did THE LITTLE DEATH (which was nominated in every acting category) and THE RAILWAY MAN (nominated for six awards, including a Best Costume Design nomination for past AFI Award winner Lizzy Gardiner).

Rolf de Heer received two nominations - Best Direction presented by Hyundai Genesis and Best Original Screenplay - for CHARLIE’S COUNTRY (which received a total of five nominations), adding to his illustrious career which includes six AFI Awards.

Matt Villa ASE also received two nominations for Best Editing (PREDESTINATION and THE WATER DIVINER), competing against Bryan Mason (52 TUESDAYS) and Simon Njoo (THE BABADOOK).

Television Nominees

Television Nominees

A total of 20 television awards will be presented at the 4th AACTA Awards.

Leading the television nominations count is THE CODE (ABC) with 10 nominations, followed by PLEASE LIKE ME (ABC 2) with six nominations, and THE BROKEN SHORE, CARLOTTA, and RAKE SERIES 3, with each of these ABC productions earning five nominations.

A nomination for AACTA Award for Best Television Drama Series sees industry acclaim continue for PUBERTY BLUES SEASON 2 (Network Ten) by John Edwards and Imogen Banks, following a win for the drama’s debut series at the 2nd AACTA Awards. Today’s nomination marks six AFI or AACTA joint nominations for Edwards and Banks since 2007, and a total of 16 nominations for Edwards (who has won one AACTA Award and five AFI Awards) over the past 14 years. Two new dramas - THE CODE and JANET KING (both ABC) - were also nominated for Best Television Drama Series along with the returning RAKE SERIES 3 (ABC), marking a nomination in this category for every series of RAKE.

RAKE’s Richard Roxburgh was awarded Best Lead Actor in a Television Drama Series at the 2nd AACTA Awards; a nod he is chasing again having been nominated in this category for the 4th AACTA Awards. This category sees a first-time nomination for Luke Arnold (INXS – NEVER TEAR US APART, Seven Network), and two nominations for performances in THE CODE (Ashley Zukerman, a first time-nominee, and Dan Spielman, who was twice nominated for AFI Awards).

The AFI and AACTA Award-winning Kat Stewart has been nominated for the AACTA Award for Best Lead Actress in a Television Drama for OFFSPRING SEASON 5 (Network Ten), alongside Ashleigh Cummings (PUBERTY BLUES SEASON 2), marking Cummings’ second time nominated in this category.

Also nominated were Danielle Cormack (WENTWORTH SERIES 2 Episode 11: Into The Night – Foxtel – Showcase) and Marta Dusseldorp (JANET KING), marking debut nominations for both actresses.

Competition for the AACTA Award for Best Television Comedy Series is particularly strong, with multi-AFI and AACTA Award-winning credentials behind and in front of the camera across all nominees: UTOPIA (ABC); THE MOODYS (ABC); PLEASE LIKE ME (ABC2); SHAUN MICALLEF’S MAD AS HELL, SERIES 3 (ABC); and IT’S A DATE SERIES 2 (ABC).

The AACTA Award for Best Light Entertainment Television Series sees Network Ten’s THE PROJECT receive its first AACTA nomination. It will compete with PADDOCK TO PLATE, SERIES 1 (Foxtel – Lifestyle), THE CHECKOUT (ABC) and HAMISH & ANDY’S GAP YEAR SOUTH AMERICA (Nine Network).

MASTERCHEF: THE PROFESSIONALS won the 3rd AACTA Award for Best Reality Television Series, and this year again sees MASTERCHEF AUSTRALIA – SERIES 6 (Network Ten) competing with THE X FACTOR (Seven Network), but with two new nominees rounding out the category, THE VOICE AUSTRALIA and THE VOICE KIDS (both Nine Network).

Documentary Nominees

Documentary Nominees

The AACTA Award for Best Documentary Television Program presented by Foxtel Movies sees the Oscar-winning Eva Orner nominated for her SBS television documentary THE NETWORK, alongside TENDER (ABC) and the series BRILLIANT CREATURES: GERMAINE, CLIVE, BARRY & BOB (ABC) and TAKING ON THE CHOCOLATE FROG (Foxtel – STUDIO).

A number of the previously announced nominees for Best Feature Length Documentary received craft award nominations today, with UKRAINE IS NOT A BROTHEL up for six AACTA Awards, and ALL THIS MAYHEM and DEEPSEA CHALLENGE 3D receiving four nominations each.

Australian music icons Nick Cave and Warren Ellis are among the nominees for the new AACTA Award for Best Original Music Score in a Documentary presented by APRA AMCOS for TENDER (ABC). Jed Kurzel (ALL THIS MAYHEM), Jed Palmer and Zoë Barry (UKRAINE IS NOT A BROTHEL) and Ricky Edwards, Brett Aplin and Amy Bastow (DEEPSEA CHALLENGE 3D) round out the nominees in this category.

The Australian Academy congratulates all nominees for the 4th AACTA Awards.

The AACTAs are proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.

The 4th AACTA Awards Ceremony will be broadcast on Network Ten on Thursday 29 January 2015.