AACTA Winners & Nominees

AFI Past winners

Please note: Up until 1970, with a few exceptions, AFI Awards were presented in recognition of films and productions, rather than the achievements of individual filmmakers and craftspeople. From 1971, an increasing number of AFI Awards were introduced recognising individual achievements and, from 1976, AFI Awards were presented on this basis across all feature films. From 1980 onwards, all AFI Awards were awarded to individual filmmakers and crafts people.

Where an Award was presented in recognition of a film rather than a filmmaker, we have also listed the producer and director of the film, where this information is available. For craft-specific awards, we have also listed the respective craftsperson where possible. These filmmakers and craftspeople are listed in brackets after the Award that their film received.

1958 Winners & Nominees



  • Advertising
  • Winner:

    4,000 Hours Bronze Medallion
    This Game Of Bowls Bronze Medallion

  • Documentary
  • Winner:

    Conquest Of The Rivers Silver Medallion (Producer / Director: Harry Malcolm)
    Hard To Windward Silver Medallion (Producer: Norman Laird, Director: Max Graham)
    Tuna Bronze Medallion
    A Queen Who Returned Special Mention (Production Company: State Film Centre, Director: Gilbert J. Brealey)

  • Educational
  • Winner:

    Inland With McDouall Stuart Bronze Medallion (Production Company: Australian Instructional Films, Director: Lex Halliday)
    Return To Sender Special Mention



  • Open
  • Winner:

    The Forerunner Silver Medallion (Production Company: Shell Film Unit, John Heyer Film Company, Director: John Heyer)

  • Special Award for an Experimental Film
  • Winner:

    Sunday In Melbourne Special Mention (Production Company: Melbourne Repertory Film Unit, Director: Gilbert J. Brealey, Paul Olson)